Juniors set for tennis season

October 10, 2017

The Deniliquin Lawn Tennis Club junior competition’s first round of playing and coaching will start on Saturday morning.

Players are asked to arrive 10 minutes earlier than the listed start time to receive a quick brief regarding how the program will be run this year.

Players are to contact their team captain before Saturday to confirm availability.

Junior tennis president Jon Gatacre is excited for the upcoming season.

‘‘We are looking forward to seeing our tennis families again, and to welcoming all new players, parents and carers,’’ he said.

‘‘A more coaching focused approach has been introduced to hopefully increase participation, court time and to keep up enjoyable skill development in preparation for competition.

‘‘There will be new start times to help with court allocation for our coaching programs.

‘‘As we are all volunteers, it would be amazing if you could please offer assistance for coaching programs that are being delivered and to help out.’’

Following their coaching, each player will play two doubles matches for their team, with a new ‘challenge’ match system introduced for singles matches.

If have any queries contact Simone Hughes on 0438064200 or Jon Gatacre on 0428462117.

Deni Hot Shots (9am): Olivia Armytage, Holly Allitt, Milla Bode, Harry Cowley, Thomas Bull, Roxy Cameron, Ruby Caruso, Sophie Doherty, Max Ferguson, James Gatacre, Nina Glowrey, Bentley Hardman, Zoe Harvey, Zarly Horne, Lara Horne, Sienna Hull, Isabella Knox, Hugo Malin, , William McNeil, Eloise Menadue, Bella Muldoon, Eliza Newman, Emma Wettenhall

Deni Developers (9.45 am): Charlotte Armytage, Will Armytage, Harry Bull, Lily Cameron, Alice Circuitt, Zoe Circuitt, Sarah Circuitt, Spencer Cowley, Ruby Cowley, Carla Crossley, Lucy Crossley, Amy Doherty, Fred Everett, Macie Ezard, Emily Harvey, Jake Harvey, Liam Knuckey, Zara Malin, Saskia Malin, Ava Marshall, Oscar Marshall, Catie Michael, Isabell Macknight, Lizzie Muldoon, Tomas Murray, Phoebe Newman, Thomas Purkeljc, Harry Raper, Isla Tweed, Hayley Whittakers.

Future Stars (10am): Fletcher Campion, Ben Crossley, Sam Crossley, Lucy Danckert, Tyson Ellul, Jyah Hebbard, Hazel Glowrey, Alex Harvey, Lilianne Jansen,Chloe Manzin, Phoebe Selleck, Arabella Bliss, Charlie Bull, Baxter Cowley, Makayla Finn, Dexter Hardman, Henry Knox, Thomas McKern, Chloe Macknight, Jock Muldoon, Andrew Smith, Winnie Thomson, Tom Wallace, Matilda Whittakers.

Section One (9.30am): Deni Physio - Duncan Hughes, Jack Michael, Edwina Barclay, Kate-Lynn Godden-Cannard, Jemma Smith. Team Captain: Lynda Barclay 0417204668; WFI - Tom Cochrane, Emily Manzin, Will Bull, Angus Shand, Charlie Paton. Team Captain: Kate Paton 0438405115; Mayberry Jerseys - Billy Michael, Adrian Mulham, Audrey James, Annie Harvey, Harry Dudley. Team Captain: Linda Harvey 0419509912; Elders Real Estate - Jai Ezard, Dan James, Sam Hughes, Elena Mulham, Grace McCallum. Team Captain: Leanne Mulham 0447357437.

Section Two (10am): MikyWays - Bede Orr, Jessica Smith, Ben Dunmore, Angus Knox, Ava Robinson. Team Captain: Peata Smith 0400422774; Wandara - Olivia Manzin, Bonnie Everett, Wallace Hughes, Henry Michael, Pheobe Hicks. Team Captain: Janet Manzin 0458057139; Rob Rich Auto - Keely Rich, Georgia Dankert, Jack Murray, Austin Armytage, Abbie Wallace. Team Captain: Ellie Dankert 0408839073; Deni Bakery - Charlie Waters, James Selleck, Eliza Bermingham, Matilda Glowrey, Harry O’Brien. Team Captain: Fiona Waters 0429825915; Elders Rural - Georgia Fisher, Nicholas Stubbings, Sophie Murray, Olivia McCallum, Lillianne Jansen. Team Captain: Georgie Murray 0429929345.

With five teams in section two there will be a bye team each week.

Players in the bye team are encouraged to still attend the coaching sessions at the start of their time slot and continue with the Future Stars groups that will be playing games in preparation for competition.

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text