New look, new season

October 06, 2017

Chantall Barnes (left) and Vicki Carmichael from Deniliquin Travel Centre with Greg Keech at the new shirt unveiling.

Deniliquin Bowling Club will sport a new look for the 2017/18 Campaspe Valley Bowls Division season which starts tomorrow.

Bowlers will don the club’s revamped blue playing shirt, which was presented to the players on Tuesday night.

The new shirts were made possible through generous donations by a number of the club’s sponsors.

Deniliquin Bowling Club president Ray Anderson said the support plays a crucial role in keeping operations afloat.

‘‘Without our sponsors we wouldn’t be able to run the club — we have about 25 to 30 who all put in a bit and it helps keep us going,’’ he said.

‘‘The club wanted new shirts but the only way this could happen was through sponsorship.

‘‘I would like to thank all the generous businesses which donated.

‘‘We love the shirts and it’s quite special to see everyone in uniform.’’

Deni will once again contest Division One and Two, with the club opting to move up from Division Four to Division Three as well as having two teams compete in Division Five.

Anderson said the decision to field two Division Five sides was made to give his bowlers more opportunity to play.

‘‘It gives the players more of a chance to get a game,’’ he said.

‘‘A lot of bowlers just love to play bowls and don’t want to play in the higher divisions, so that helped us make the decision as well.

‘‘We’ve also had some players who haven’t played for a while come back to the club.

‘‘Some have been able to slot straight into higher divisions due to their skill.

‘‘I’m quite happy with where we’re at and I’m excited for another good season of bowls.’’

Teams for round one are as follows:

Division One vs Rich River at Rich River: Ty King, L Franklin, C Bovell, S Truelsen (s); D Hessel, P Snare, P Chadderton, J Shields (s); R Brown, D O’Keefe, J Flisher, S Laing (s).

Division Two vs Moama at Moama: G Nisbet, K Plattfuss, S Treble, L Ritchie (s); J King, M Tasker, J Bovell, L Hillier (s); A Hardcastle, Tony King, M Wubbels, M Freshwater (s).

Division Three vs Echuca at home: C Lowe, B Beehag, G Dedman, M Connor (s); N Murray, K Keane, T Freeman, R McCurry (s); M Norton, T Brooksby, D Seymour, T Todd (s).

Division Five Blue vs Moama at home: T Scoullar, R Hay, M Donohue, R Anderson (s); I Chessells, W Young, C Cameron, C Knuckey (s).

Division Five Gold vs Elmore at Elmore: S Wubbels, A Knuckey, T Smith, R Douglas (s); R Morris, A Morton, T Danckert, P Morris (s).

More in Deniliquin Pastoral Times
Login Sign Up

Dummy text